Music Matters
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

8/20/14 KNBA News - Dan Sullivan wins Republican nomination for U.S. Senate; Oil tax change fails

Former Alaska attorney general Dan Sullivan is the Republican nominee to face Sen. Mark Begich in the November election. In the 3-way race for the Republican nomination, Sullivan took 40% of the vote, followed by Joe Miller with 32%, and Mead Treadwell with 25%.

Ballot measure 1, which would have revoked an oil tax law adopted by the state Legislature in 2013, failed; 52% of the electorate voted no, and 48% voted yes. Supporters of the no vote had waged a $15 million campaign to protect the oil tax law, which supporters say makes Alaska more attractive to oil company investments.

Don Young, as expected, is the Republican nominee for Alaska's sole seat in the House of Representatives, a seat he's held since 1973. The 81-year-old faces newcomer Forest Dunbar, age 29, the Democratic nominee.

Gov. Sean Parnell will face Byron Mallot, who won the Democratic nomination, and Independent Bill Walker.

Related Content