Music Matters
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Miike Snow: Producers Step Into The Spotlight

Miike Snow is a band, not a person. Members Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg have enjoyed successful careers as the production duo known as Bloodshy and Avant. The duo produced successful singles for pop artists such as Kylie Minogue and Madonna, culminating in a Grammy for Britney Spears' hit song "Toxic." Miike Snow is led by American vocalist and songwriter Andrew Wyatt, a former member of Black Beetle and The A.M. The three producers met in 2000 while working on a small recording project; seven years later, they formed Miike Snow.

Before its eponymous debut album came out in May, the band's identity was shrouded in mystery, as several of its promotional singles and remixes led Miike Snow to catch fire in the blogosphere. The group combines sleek, modern production with touches of retro sound. Upbeat drums and swirling keyboard lines hide an undercurrent of darkness and melancholy in Wyatt's voice. Miike Snow's songs range from floating and upbeat to dark and searching, while staying true to the trio's signature production style.

Copyright 2009 XPN