Alcohol Beverage Control Board

Former Haines mayor Jan Hill has been appointed to the state’s Alcoholic Beverage Control Board. KHNS’ Corinne Smith reports.

Jan Hill will serve a three year term on the state Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, which began last month and will run through March 1st 2024.

Runoff election to be scheduled

With 99% of the ballots counted in yesterday’s municipal election, Ethan Berkowitz has a wide lead in the Anchorage mayor’s race. He took 37% of the vote. Amy Demboski came in second with 24 percent,  Andrew Halcro in third with 22%, and Dan Coffey in fourth with 15% of the votes. Forty-five percent of the ballots cast is needed to win, so a runoff election between Berkowitz and Dembosky will be scheduled. 

New School board members are Kathleen Plunkett, Tam Agosti-Gisler, and Elisa Snelling.