Music Matters
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Ana Hoffman has been reelected as AFN co-chair

Ana Hoffman of Bethel has been reelected as co-chair of the Alaska Federation of Natives. The AFN Board received one nomination for the position and unanimously accepted Hoffman, who is Yup’ik, as co-chair on Dec. 10.

The term runs two years and will end in 2023. Hoffman has served in the role since 2013. In her" target="_blank">candidate video, she describes how she sees her position.

“I firmly believe that the role of the co-chair is to be as inclusive and collaborative as possible, and to represent our vast diversity at all levels,” Hoffman said.

This year’s AFN convention is celebrating the 50th anniversary of ANCSA, the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act. AFN was originally formed to campaign for this landmark 1971 legislation, which gave Alaska Natives control over their lands and natural resources, and control over their development. In her campaign video, Hoffman said that the new generations must continue that work.

“We are the sons and daughters of a group of Alaska Native leaders that had the confidence and courage to gather together with the determination to empower their future, and that is exactly what they did," Hoffman said. "Today we are the beneficiaries of their work, and we have the duty to carry forward that mission.”

Hoffman also leads the Bethel Native Corporation as its President and CEO. Joe Nelson, who is Tlingit and Haida, serves as the other AFN co-chair.